A Song Unsung

Here’s a song I wrote while warming a stool on Houston Street one too-warm December
I had no melody or rhyme in mind just wanted to waste some time waiting for my husband and friends
My drink’s been empty for only a few minutes and I can’t decide if I want more

It’s more interesting to sit here and write this song
Maybe everyone will leave me alone if I sit and write this song

A pair of girls just walked in, their hats don’t really suit them but it won’t really matter — there’s only girls here tonight
Maybe it’s the singer, he’s cute enough to have a following of gabbing geese, but they sit half-way down the bar so I can’t really tell

It’s not quite as interesting as I’d hoped to sit and write this song
But so far I’ve been left alone while I sit and write this song
So that’s something

The more I write the more I like this strange song inside my head, the background murmur of the bar is a nice back-up chorus
The words aren’t coming as easily as they did, that must mean I’m nearing the end, sure wouldn’t want this to sound forced

It’s been interesting to sit here and write this song
Here come my friends so I don’t need to write anymore to this song

Leave a Reply

