50¢

Do you want to know a secret
I’ll sell you mine for yours
It’s half of twice of nothing
But the bones of something
That’s kept in a closet under
Lock and keep it close to you
Close as skin, close as sin

Can you keep a secret
I can keep them too
Hidden from myself on a shelf
I can’t reach in a room
I can’t find in a house
That doesn’t exist
For making reasons, making seasons

Every step is another step
Closer to being away from
The part of me who’s not quite me
And keeps her secrets to herself

Can you help me solve a secret
About life and lies, like
The words of politics
Or a beer ad
About the real taste of chicken
Con pollo con chicken
With all our feathers on, all our masks

Leave a Reply

