Being Woman

These lipstick strings stain my fingers red
Because “she” describes me, I’m better off dead
And outside my window it’s summer instead
Because winter remains in my heart

The snow falls down inside me
White drifts stained red inside me
There’s no one here beside me
Because winter remains in my heart

These dagger-shaped heels stain my feet red
Because wine unbinds me, I’m better off dead
And outside my window it’s springtime instead
Because time only moves in my heart

The seconds tick inside me
Add up to days inside me
I can’t put the past behind me
Because time only moves in my heart

And did you know
That rain is snow
That night is black
And truth is fact
All words are wrong
Except in song
Can’t let them go
My heart is snow

Leave a Reply

