The Republic of Democracy

Twisted light is all I see
From fire’s glow, a memory
Swallowed by the glare of a thousand frozen truths

My marbles line up for the race
I’ve salted them, put them in place
Tripping those unaware inside their voting booths

Your father’s blood’s as red as mine
But only you commit the crime
Of thinking and believing party lines exist

There’s only cool aid in my glass
If you think everything is class
Your empty promises and lies will not be missed

Who’s got a flag, who’s got a flask
Who’s got a job, so kiss their ass
Who gives a damn, who pays the dime
Where did you put my bottom line
Who’s gonna pay, who’s gonna die
Who needs a smoke, who wonders why
Who do I trust, they’re all the same
I’m not involved, so who’s to blame
It’s all a shame
Oh, what a shame
You lost your shame

You heard my cry before I died
But then you buried it inside
How do you know the world is better without me

I felt the burning touch of love
But you will always stand above
Do mountains crumble if you choose to not believe

Your mother’s bed’s as warm as mine
But only I commit the crime
Of watching everything I love consumed in flame

Each year brings out another black
And so we tally what we lack
Say, poverty and coveting, they’re just the same

Who’s got a flag, who’s got a flask
Who’s got a job, so kiss their ass
Who gives a damn, who pays the dime
Where did you put my bottom line
Who’s gonna pay, who’s gonna cry
Don’t ever never wonder why
Who do I trust, they’re all the same
I’m not involved, so who’s to blame
It’s all a shame
Oh, what a shame
You lost your shame

Leave a Reply

