Brawl Musings: Pick a Hand, Any Hand

So this week we have a brawl that’s part constructed, part pre-made. Similar to the deck where you have nothing but Portals, this deck has 23 Portals. The other seven cards are chosen by you. So, you pick your class, pick seven cards, and then you’re on your way.

Of course, my first deck was Mage because of all the spell synergy. My seven cards were:

  • Mana Wyrm x2
  • Sorcerer’s Apprentice x2
  • Flamewalker x2
  • Burly Rockjaw Trogg

90

I included the Trogg because I expected my opponent to cast a lot of spells, which they did. I won with this deck, and then decided to challenge myself.

I moved to Priest since I had a quest for it. While my Mage deck was very fast, Priest lends itself to a more control style with the ability to destroy or steal minions. However, I was unable to come up with a winning deck for this class.

I also tried Paladin, again with a control mindset by using a lot of healing cards. This also didn’t work out. However, I did see other decks that were interesting. Warlock was pretty strong, especially if your Portals keep giving you low cost minions and you soon play out everything in your hand.Shadowflame was a very good AOE option and could create combos better than (and cheaper than) Flamestrike.

Overall, I enjoyed this brawl, so long as I used that first Mage deck I made. Unfortunately, I thought I was streaming play this morning, but the video didn’t go through. I later streamed some Constructed though, if you’re interested then you can check it out here: http://twitch.tv/thepurplespiral

 

Leave a Reply

