Brawl Musings – Top 3

This week’s brawl is similar to one we had a few months back called Top 2. If you played that brawl, then you’ll recall that there were a few very popular decks that grew to prominence very quickly and the meta became mostly about who went first.

In case you didn’t play Top 2, here’s the breakdown of this week’s brawl:

  • Choose a class
  • Choose three cards
  • Your deck has only those cards

This lets you fill your deck with your favorite cards and synergies and see what happens. Before I get into games I saw/liked/hated/etc., I want to mention something funny about deck building. If you’ve ever made a deck and forgot a card or two, then you know that when you press “Done,” the game asks if you want to auto-fill your deck. While playing around with some ideas, I accidentally hit “Done” instead of “Delete” and that made me wonder: What are the auto-fill decks for this brawl? Now, auto-filling only uses the cards you have, so this is not what everyone would get because I don’t have all the cards. But just for fun, here are the decks Blizzard made for me in each class.

  • Warrior: Zombie Chow, Fiery War Axe, Haunted Creeper
  • Shaman: Zombie Chow, Bloodmage Thalnos, Doomhammer
  • Rogue: Zombie Chow, Undercity Huckster, SI:7 Agent
  • Paladin: Zombie Chow, Bloodmage Thalnos, Aldor Peacekeeper
  • Hunter: Zombie Chow, Bloodmage Thalnos, Unleash the Hounds
  • Druid: Innervate, Zombie Chow, Bloodmage Thalnos
  • Warlock: Zombie Chow, Bloodmage Thalnos, Emperor Thaurissan
  • Zombie Chow, Bloodmage Thalnos, Flamestrike
  • Priest: Zombie Chow, Bloodmage Thalnos, Emperor Thaurissan

Clearly, the deck builder is not thinking about the three card restriction as seen by the inclusion of Bloodmage Thalnos in many decks with no spells. Unless the builder just thinks a 2-mana 1/1 with card draw is hot stuff.

While playing, I came across many Druid mill decks. The one with Innervate, Coldlight Oracle and Mulch. When I saw Zombie Chow in the decks above, it made me think of Leper Gnome. The driving force behind the mill is Mulch, because without it you and your opponent draw the same amount of cards with Coldlight Oracle. Add to that the ability to heal, and I made this deck:

  • Paladin: Forbidden Healing, Leper Gnome, Baron Rivendare

After loosing to a few aggro decks and some interesting discard decks, I decided I either needed some direct removal or I need to recall the “Gandhi” Paladin from Top 2. After a few more adjustments, I finally determined this idea was just too slow. I settled on a Rogue deck that sometimes survived mill decks and, if I was lucky, also survived aggro.

  • Rogue: Gang Up, Mechwarper, Gorillabot A-3

What kind of deck did you use? What was your least favorite opponent? Leave a comment below or link to your video/blog/what-have-you.

Leave a Reply

